Chapter 74 seems uneventful

“Should we tell Clytemnestra about Castor as well?” asked princess Araliya as she rubbed oil on her skin before going to bed. Prince Pollux laughed to himself as he drank his tea of ginger, mint and honey. He had been under a lot of stress due to recent evens causing prince Pollux to suffer abdominal pain resulting in fatigue and even more stress. The doctor had told him to stay in bed for a day.

“Are you joking? I haven’t had any contact with her in years. And I doubt she will come even if we do tell her, I am pretty sure priests of her religion aren’t supposed to have any lingering ‘earthly’ attachments. The last time I met her she gave me sermon about everything people do is selfish and the only way to overcome suffering is to give up wanting everything.”

“She has the right to know. Religion or not she should at least be made aware of it.”

Pollux inhaled and exhaled deeply. He tended to be unreasonable and illogical when it came to his family. Something Araliya never failed to point out.

“Alright, if it means so much to you I will send her a letter tomorrow.”

Princess Araliya climbed into bed and curled up next to her husband. Pollux put his arm around her and kissed her on the forehead.

“Sleep well darling,” said Pollux. The princess nuzzled him lovingly.

“Pollux, when shall we have children?”

The princess knew her asking this made him uncomfortable. Every time she had asked he had always changed the subject or given unconvincing excuses.

“It is still too early dear. We are still young, I was still considered a child five years ago.”

“That is not a reason, you always avoid it. Do you not want to have children with me?”

“No dear! It is not that! I love you more than anything in the world but… I know it is hard for you to understand having children young is not common for my family. My father was even king for several years before I was born”

“You are not you father,” she replied dryly. “When I was younger, before I met you, I did not want to have children or get married because in my country once you get married you are trapped and are nothing but a glorified wet nurse. But it is different now, it is different with you. I want to have children with you. Even if you never become king or I get trapped in this country.”

Araliya watched her husband’s quivering eyes and dejected expression. She knew he felt guilty about denying her something she wanted to much.

“I do want to have children. But not now or any time soon. It is just not how it is here.”

“Why?”

“Because the prince had a tendency to to oust the king before his time. My father and my grandfather, every ruler after the blood queen overthrew their predecessor in varying degrees of brutality. Having children late is just postponing the inevitable.”

She turned in bed away from her husband and sulked.

“Our children won’t be like that! You are not like that!” hissed the princess.

“Am I really not? I have considered it, after what he did to Castor and maybe even before that. My father is old and his views are old and no longer match the world we live in.”

“You won’t do that will you?” For the first time since she had met her husband she felt fearful of his actions and intentions.

“I won’t, it is not in me to do such a thing no matter how much I fantasize about it. But I think Castor is capable of it. I think the reason father is so against brother and so intimidated by him is that Castor reminds him too much of himself as a young man.”

The  was thrown open by a disheveled and out of breath maid, “The king had collapsed.”

 

Leave a Reply

