Fairytale for the lonely heart, chapter 94

Under the cover of darkness Helen lead Castor and Anneli to a small room in the back of a old shack.

“You and Anneli need to wait here. I’ll go back to the palace and tell Pollux we arrived. Then we need to be strategics and plan our next move. I’ll be back in a couple hours” said Helen and closed the door behind here. Castor and Anneli watched as the door was locked behind her.

“So I guess we wait,” said Castor trying to fill the silence that followed.

Anneli did not reply or really react at all. He walked to the bed and removed the sheets. “There is something in the bed,” muttered Anneli.

“Oh… a sword? That’s…odd. It must be Helen’s. Not that she needs it. You know whenever we fought she would always win. Even though I’m stronger and a better fighter she would use her magic to suck all the air from my lungs. She would basically choke me until I give up. She is such a sore loser.”

“Is that so-” whispered Anneli, seemingly uninterested. He sat on the ground, tucking his knees under his chin.

“What is wrong Anneli? You’ve been acting strange for awhile.”

“Nothing is wrong.”

Castor sat in front of Anneli. “We both know that is not true. Tell me what’s wrong. Did Helen say something to you?”

“No- it isn’t Helen. I mean… it isn’t just Helen.”

“Then what is it? I can’t stand you avoiding me and ignoring me. You won’t let me touch you or be near you.”

Anneli frowned and refused to meet Castor’s eyes. He did not know what he was feeling. Eddies of negative emotions tumbled inside his heart.

“Did I do something?”

“No,” snapped Anneli “it is not you. You didn’t do anything, I just feel angry.”

“You’re angry with me?”

“No…yes…. I don’t know. I am not angry at you but I am angry about you. I don’t like that there are things about you that I don’t know. I don’t like when you pay attention to other people and then I get angry at myself for being angry at you.”

“It sounds like you are jealous,” chuckled Castor.

“I don’t know… maybe.”

“Alright… well you said you wanted to know more about me! As away, I will tell you anything. I won’t lie or avoid it.”

Anneli looked at Castor’s eyes for the first time in days. “Who is Rami?”

“Oh-” blurted Castor. “um… well… he is…”

“Are you not going to tell me?”

“I will- I will. It’s just that everything with him ended terribly. It’s a part of my past I don’t like to think about.”

“Are you not going to tell me?”

Castor grinned, “I’ll tell you, if you sit on my lap.” Anneli sat on his lap, to Castor’s surprise. Castor wrapped his arms around Anneli and hugged him close. Anneli nuzzled Castor’s neck. They had not hugged in several days and Anneli could no longer remember why he was avoiding it. He felt safe in Castor arms. It felt warm, comforting and euphorious. Yet when he was upset and uncertain he could not recall this feeling, even though now it felt so natural and right.

“So Rami-” began Castor.

Leave a Reply

