Fairytale for the lonely heart, chapter 97

“What? What happened?!” exclaimed Castor.

“Well, I went to the palace to find Pollux but he was not in his quarters. I found Araliya and she told me he was in the library. So I went to the library and found Pollux with the ministers…. because apparently Pollux is currently the acting king.”

“How? What about father?”

“I’ll get to that!” hissed Helen. “Apparently he has been bedridden for days so Pollux is acting king. So when I walked in to the library during their meeting, everyone stopped talking and kind of stared at me for a good five minutes. So then Pollux just had me arrested and thrown here. And then soon after you two arrived here. I’m assuming he figured out that I brought you here because I came back a lot earlier than planned… and he probably realized where you were because that room was where was hiding before, and had the keys to…”

“Pollux sounds really smart,” chirped Anneli.

“Not helping Anneli!” snapped Castor.

“So what do you want to do?” asked Helen, laying back against the cold stone walls.

“Nothing.”

“Castor you can’t be serious! We need to get out of here!”

“Why? What can they do now? Nothing! They can’t hurt us! Do you really think they can punish me or you without everything coming out? The ministers and the court will find out about father trying to have me killed, about you and Pollux trying to save me and they will question why. They will lose faith in the king, they will question his moral and his priorities. If Habi or Hawia attack Apophis will have neither an army or a trusted leader to rally against.”

“You know about Habi and the sunken city?”

“Of course I do. I spent a year in Iqhwa and six months in Hawai and Habi each. And they all hate father with a burning passion. The only reason they do not attack us is because they fear how suicidaly loyal the citizens are to father. The also fear the Hellas army which ally with us.”

“But Hellas is at war with Ferrum.”

“Hellas is at war with Ferrum and cannot give us troops or resources. If we are attacked  now with Pollux in charge, who is not charismatic enough to get the citizens to volunteer for the army and without the support of Hellas we will lose the oasis, most of our desert land and maybe even the control of the Pyropolis port. So right now, the top priority to continue the facade that the king is well and that our country in united.”

Leave a Reply

